From the Bowels of Teacher Hell


So it’s been a long week of no answers, no information, and no communication. The end result has been that I am now operating deep in the heart of no longer give a fuck land. This is good and bad. It’s good because it saves me just a fraction of stress. It’s bad because someone is very likely to get a piece of my mind that they will NOT like at all.
In the meantime the ex-BB guy tries like hell to distract me. We went to see “Dredd” this weekend as a result of his efforts. I will warn you that this is an ultra violent movie where every scene is a bloodwash. It did get me thinking about some things. The basic premise is that a new universe has emerged where judges are out on the streets dealing with crime and criminals in an immediate way. I can’t tell you how much this premise terrifies me. I am imagining the police state of Delaware County in this scenario and let me tell you that this thought makes my blood run cold. When I imagine this scenario and apply it to my own experience with the court system, I am just about speechless. The only redeeming factor is that there would be no more reason for the system to harbour all of these bottom feeding lawyers. Wee Geek says that if this becomes reality we should immediately take his dad back to court.
Another thing that was interesting was that the had a drug called slo-mo that people took just like an inhaler. This was interesting because I’m positive that we are not that far out from that exact kind of drug taking.
The plot was interesting because you have Judge Dredd in charge of determining whether or not a rookie judge who scored slightly under passing for the job is actually capable of doing the job. An added twist? She’s psychic which may or may not be an asset. This plot is made for autistic people. Afterall, we have this weird rookie judge who is basically being set up to fail and she is thrown into a situation that instantly goes to hell as soon as she touches it. In the end, she is convinced that she’s not good enough and just walks away. We find out that is certainly not the case. A plot hand picked out of our pessimistic brains.
I related to this plot because it mirrored my current problem. I got thrown into a situation where I was set up to fail and when I did, the result was sitting in some corner of hell awaiting sentencing. I now have some people in my corner trying to find out where I’m standing. I’m pretty sure that we are going to find out that I’m asshole deep in a giant pile of shit. But I guess the up side of that is at least I’ll have some confirmation of what is happening.
In the meantime, I’m trying to use some of the time that I have constructively. Although my brain circles around and around trying to imagine all of the options and trying to develop a game plan for each one. It’s not working very well. Perhaps tomorrow I will have some answers and we can all move on.

Leave a Reply

