Trench posting 101


Wow, once again time has just sped past me again in a speed that is somewhat faster than breakneck and only a few miles per hour slower than Mach 5.
Things progress with my son and he is growing more used to the Asperger’s diagnosis and trying to navigate the services he may need. We got a call from Vocational Rehabilitation today asking for more info so that seems good.
We have sat through 3 days if training and my brain feels somewhere between totally fried and numb with exhaustion.
But something popped into my brain today. I know I’m more sensitive because I grew up completely weird and always left out of things because I’m weird. It wasn’t just school or social stuff. It felt like everything in life went by me in some demented puzzle that I would forever be unable to open or unlock. It still feels like sometimes, but I cover it up a lot better and it looks more normal now.
So there’s been a couple of things happen lately that I just wanted to talk about. The first one is about differences. We all know who I’m talking about. And since it’s my blog, I feel okay with saying it’s about me. The first thing that I want to clear up is that at this stage in the game of life, I’m pretty cognizant that I’m weird. It’s not a secret to me. So when your kids, grandkids, nieces, nephews, and sordid other little people in your life point out that I’m different, don’t hush them. Tell them that it takes lits of different people to make the world the wonderful place that it is. I’m not wrong because I’m different. I’m just different.
By the same token, stop telling kids that we’re all different in our own special way. We’re not. And don’t patronize me by saying that of course we all have something weird about us. We don’t. The world needs cookie cutter people who always follow the rules and always get the social stuff. It needs those people who never rock the boat just as much as it needs those of us who either rock the boat or bedazzle it!
If everyone were unique or special or weird or whatever euphemism you want to use, the world would not function. We have to all do something that uses our talents to the utmost. It just looks different. Frankly, if I wasn’t here giving you my little odd and witty takes on life, you would just sit bored all day. Think about it.
So next time, dear reader, you run across someone who makes you uncomfortable because they are different from you, remember that without us people who shake things up, everything would stay the same always. I know you expect me , in all my autistic splendor to be the first one in line for that boat, but I’m not. I don’t want things to stay the same. Because even though that means things will not change and by virtue of that, they won’t get worse, it also means they won’t get any better. You decide!

Leave a Reply

