The Eve of Things to Come


So, it has been a wonderful and bizarrely surreal life in the last few weeks since I last posted.
The book “Dead Souls” is at full tilt and I now have 2 signings coming up. The first is on October 29th at Barnes and Noble in Jefferson Point in Fort Wayne. I’ll be there from 10-5.  Then on October 31st, I will be at TCB Games from 2-5. That’s in the Five Points Mall in Marion.

As you can tell, it’s been a pretty busy month. We’ve also been trying to negotiate all of the crap that my ex left behind when he kicked my son out. It’s not been fun. However, there’s been a bright spot. I am reasonably sure my ex is dead. He had to send me a refund check and I’m pretty sure that had to of killed him. I hear the lovely black hole of injustice that is Delaware County has a refund check for me as well. So that leaves a little over $1000 left unaccounted for. I hope they figure that part out soon.

We have an appointment with Vocational Rehabilitation on Monday, so hopefully that will solve some of these immediate issues. My son is slowly getting used to the idea of being autistic again. I think it was the cookies that attracted him. (As in, come to the dark side, we have cookies.) This is a big step for him, coming back around to a world where he’s okay for just being the wonderfully great guy he is. In a way, it is revisiting the dark side, I suppose.

In other news, we are finally getting a daughter off the payroll, in a sense. We were lucky enough to have the Best Buy guy’s oldest daughter meet a really great guy and he planned an elaborate scheme to propose. He actually wrote her a song and made sure that all of her family was there. It really was amazing.

In the course of the evening, I found out that I have garnered a fan that I didn’t even know I had. Apparently, that comes with the territory. It’s interesting to have people tell me that they read my blog. Frankly, I never know what the right response to that is.  There must be some neurotypical socially correct way to respond, I’m just at a total loss for what that might be. The other part of these large gatherings is remembering all the rules and being able to apply them. First of all, it’s a room full of strange people that I don’t know all that well, and being acutely aware that I am the only social weirdo there. It’s difficult having lots of people introduce themselves to you and being unable to remember anyone’s name because their faces all look alike to me. Then there is the idea of conversing with them. What a freaking social convention nightmare. What do you say? When do you say it? How long a pause is normal? What do you say in response to things? I swear I am completely overloaded just trying to keep all the social conventions in my head and then remembering that I must supply an answer that is congruent to the conversation. Just typing it, makes me want to throw up.  The only way to describe it all is: exhausting.

Then there was this small nightmare of introducing people and explaining to the future son-in-law’s mother how all of these people fit in with each other. Imagine the nightmare of explaining not-kid…whew I narrowly avoided that!

Look forward to some Halloween topics and updates on the planning for the insanity of NaNoWriMo! It is only 16 days away!

Leave a Reply

