Amazing Days in the Face of Adversity


Okay, I know that I haven’t posted alot about the appeal on here.  But yesterday, it was finally finished.  Yesterday, it was put into the mail.  In the face of everything yesterday, I thought it blog-worthy.

I’ve spent several fairly sleepless nights over the last month getting this thing done.  I was up until 3.30 the other morning putting final touches on it and making sure that all the info was there.  Miracle! Wonderful Best Buy guy found some key paperwork that had accidentally ended up in the trash so that it could be included.  So, I didn’t have to make an extraneous run to Muncie yesterday in the middle of trying to get everything accomplished and that just gave me a little extra wiggle room!

So, finished everything, got it printed and ready to copy.  Took it to Staples.  Wonderful girl at Staples figured out what I needed, di it exactly the way the lawyers do it and then gave me the legal discount!  Saved me $10.  Then off to the post office where I got one box and asked the clerk about putting some packing material in it, and she pointed me toward the only pack of 1/2 price bubble wrap left.  I got it and then she remembered that someone had bought a box that turned out too small and they were just going to throw it out, but here I come needing a box exactly that size with only a little packing stuff needed…..so, she packed it all up and we got an address sticker for it. 

From behind me, I hear something about “Katey that I used to work with at Carey”, I turn around to see an ex coworker of mine that I haven’t seen for awhile.  I tell her what’s in my box and she decides it needs a little prayer.  Then when I’m leaving, I see that the postal clerks are having a little prayer over it.  Then I see my father in law walk in the opposite door, so I beat a hasty retreat out.  I get home and wonder about it all.

I just feel as if things were all lined up for me to do exactly what needed to be done yesterday to get it looking the way it should have, to have everything I needed into it, and then to get it all mailed off.  It was truly a day of endless guardian angels making sure that it got off!

Now, those who know me, know that I am not a big religion band wagoner.  But I just can’t help but think how many things got lined up for me.  The girl at Staples telling me how things were supposed to look and then the mail clerk and then my friend.  Just seemed like nothing could go wrong.  I am hoping that it bodes well.  Now is the hard part.  I have to wait. 

I’m nervous and I’m not a good waiter at all.  However, I am thinking that this is definitely going to be a good thing.  At the very least, I hope that it puts me back on track with my son.  Or at least puts us in a place where we can try to rebuild all of the damage that’s been done to our relationship.  Sometimes I think that it’s an impossible task.  Other days I try to be hopeful.  So….I am trying to think hopefully today.  We’ll see what happens.  Think positive everyone. Think prayers or karma or whatever you have because I will take it all right now!

And by the way, if you happen to need to know how an appeal is written, I’m kinna an expert, now!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Ron Kraft
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 13:44:21

    Sounds like they are, and a little devine help as well. Plus I’ll say a few prayers novenas, and light a candle for you as well. Hey it couldn’t hurt.- Ron

    Reply

Leave a Reply

