Epiphany #99 “Rashomon”


Epiphany #99 “Rashomon”

May 7, 2007 1.16 PM  Devan

The sidewalk rushed by in hues of pinks and light greys.  The sky was clear blue and no clouds marred the view.  The street was creeping by in boxes of black, red, and white.  I shifted in my ergonomic chair and tried to adjust the focus of camera 7.  I was going to have to go out and clean off the lens again, the thought of which sent a slight shiver up my spine. I had designed the perfect observation station.  It was the truly the study in point of view that I loved. I could see everything around me for what seemed like miles. It was beautiful.  Almost as beautiful as the red haired girl.

May 7, 2007 1.16 PM Sarah

            I walked down the sidewalk feeling the warm sun on my skin. I loved this stretch of sidewalk in the arts district, even though I could never shake the feeling of being watched. I looked up, it was absolutely cloudless and I loved the glorious feeling of the fading of spring and the beginning of summer melting together seamlessly. I had broken out a new pink suit for today and I was feeling positive as I walked purposefully toward my interview.  This was the day.  I could feel it. 

May 7, 2007 1.16 PM Officer Stanton

I like to keep things moving in my neighborhood.  It’s a busy little stretch of sidewalk in the arts district and the people are….well, interesting.  I don’t really understand what goes on down here, but I swore to keep it a little safer.  I looked up at the corner of the brownstone that sat at the crossroads of the district.  The cameras were busy.  Devan was awake, alert, and watchful as always.  I wondered if that kid ever slept and how in the hell he maintained those cameras. 

May 7, 2007 1.16 PM Peter Summerhill

            I glanced out the window as I wiped tables down.  Damn kids would sit all morning taking up the space of paying customers and nursing one coffee. They made huge messes for no more than what they spent.  They sat pretending to be artists with no idea of what it really took to express themselves.  Fucking posers.

            I heard the argument before I saw it.  The voices were loud and gruff.  I hated my location sometimes.  I thought being sandwiched between a bar and a tattoo parlour would be good.  Stupid of me.  I walked over to the window and looked out.  The voices were getting angrier and it sounded like they were about to come to blows. 

May 7, 2007 1.18 PM Devan

            I moved camera 15 so that I could see what was going on across the street near the café.  Two big, heavily tattooed guys were standing toe to toe on the sidewalk with faces red and angry.  I saw the café owner craning his neck to look out.  The red haired girl was walking brisklly up the sidewalk.  She stopped and looked behind her.  A taxi was stopped in the middle of the street and the driver was yelling at another car. His arms were waving wiidly and the other driver was rolling his window up quickly.

May 7, 2007 1.18 PM Sarah

            I heard the tires screeching and turned to look as the cab driver got out of his taxi and started screaming at a Mercedes.  The driver of the Mercedes was rolling up his window quickly.  I could see his face disappearing behind the tinted glass.  I felt a slam against my face and fell backwards onto the sidewalk.  The sky went grey and fuzzy around the edges.

May 7, 2007 1.18 PM Officer Stanton

            I was looking in the window of some faggy little shop with lots of little trinkets in the window when  I heard the yelling. I turned quickly and called it in on my walkie as I started to run across the street.  Just when my feet both touched down onto the asphalt, I heard the tires screech and felt a hard bump against my thigh that made me skip a little to my left.  I quickly regained my footing and saw the cabbie was out of his car and yelling at a silver 2005 Mercedes.   I assessed they could take care of themselves and skirted between them.  I headed toward the tattoo parlor with the beefy tat covered guys yelling at each other.  It was going to be a great afternoon.

May 7, 2007 1.18 PM  Peter Summerhill

            I saw the policeman get smacked in the leg with a taxi as he ran across the street.  It was just about the same time that I saw the flash of red and pink fall in front of the window.  I ran out my front door into the warm spring day, ripping off my apron and tucking it under a girl’s head.  Her face was bloody and her eyes rolled back as I asked her if she was okay.  I looked up and yelled at the policeman for help.  I don’t think he heard me over everything else.  I fumbled in my pants pocket for my cell and dialed 911.

May 7, 2007 1.20 PM Devan

            The girl fell on monitor 15.  The café owner was putitng his apron under her head and yelling at the people on the street.  Camera 22 showed the policeman trying to separate the two freaks at the tattoo parlor.  My phone rang shrilly and I jumped.  I looked at it for two rings before I remembered what I was supposed to do.  “Hello?” My voice squeaked from disuse. 

            “Devan, this is the dispatcher at CMPD.  Did you see what happened at the café?”

            I stumbled over the words.  “Yeah, I have it all on file.”

            “I’ll send on officer over, can you make me a DVD?” I nodded and swallowed hard. “Devan? Can you do that for me?”

            “Yes.”

            “Thanks.  The officer will be there within a half hour.”  I put the phone down and got to work.

Leave a Reply

